applebanner Gavin Davenport

The Bone Orchard


THE BONE ORCHARD is Gavin’s second solo album and brings together some of the UKs finest folk musicians to realise arrangements and accompaniments that span the cinematic to the intimate. Joined by regular band-mates Tom Kitching (Fiddle) Nick Cooke (Melodeon) and Tim Yates (Double Bass) the album also features contributions from Crucible band mates Richard & Jess Arrowsmith and many more, all centred around Gavin’s unmistakeable voice. “[an] incredible, hard-to-avoid voice, the instrumental work is hair-raisingly eerie. There’s definite Chris Wood comparisons to be made, for sure, but with added cinematography.”

Brief Lives

Brief Lives BRIEF LIVES is the stunning solo debut of singer, award winning songwriter and multi instrumentalist Gavin Davenport (Crucible, Hekety, Glorystrokes, The Privateers) and sees him tackle an ambitious selection of traditional and broadside ballads both accompanied (with guitar, cittern and anglo concertina) and unaccompanied. At once stark and tender, it captures a rare intimacy and honesty that sees ancient material delivered with an uncluttered and timeless approach, which at all times serves the song.

Capturing the spirit of some of English Folk music’s classic albums, Brief Lives also brings together some of the brightest young names in English Music to gently add to an already clear vision. Featuring Ian Stephenson, (Kan, Kathryn Tickell) Matt Quinn (The Mighty Quinns) and Tom Wright (Eliza Carthy Band, PBS6) this is a carefully and honestly crafted record that cherishes the organic over the technological.


2001 – Hekety EP, Own Label
2003 – Crucible – Changeling – Wildgoose
2004 – Hekety – Furze Cat – Wildgoose
2005 – Crucible – Crux – Wildgoose
2005 – James Raynard – Strange Histories (cittern and backing vocals), Unearthed/One Little Indian
2005 – The Magic of Morris (compilation) – Talking Elephant
2006 – Forged in Sheffield (compilation) – Talking Elephant
2007 – Glorystrokes – Industrial Revolution – Powered Flight
2008 – Crucible – Love and Money – Fellside Recordings
2009 – The Magic of Morris Volume 2 (compilation)
2009 – Paul and Liz Davenport – (backing vocals) Songbooks, Hallamshire Traditions
2010 – Glorystrokes – Rude Mechanicals – Powered Flight
2010 – Jess & Richard Arrowsmith – Off We Go
2010 – Gavin Davenport — Brief Lives – Hallamshire Traditions
2011 – The Albion Band – Fighting Room – Powered Flight
2012 – The Albion Band – The Vice of The People – Powered Flight
2013 – Gavin Davenport – The Bone Orchard – Haystack Records


All content © Gavin Davenport 2023 unless otherwise specified. Theme designed & coded by KT Coope/ Photos by Ellie Lucas. Powered by Wordpress.